WSUS Role Installation Fails on Windows Server 2012 R2

I was attempting to add the WSUS role on a Windows Server 2012 R2 system earlier this week and I ran into this error during the installation.

“The request to add or remove features on the specified server failed. the operation cannot be completed because the server that you specified requires a restart.”

After several subsequent reboots and attempts to add the role I continued receiving this same error, so I started doing some research. I got several hits and this appears to be a fairly common issue with Server 2012, specifically when choosing to use the Windows Internal Database (WID).

The issue is that WID relies on the NT SERVICE\MSSQL$MICROSOFT##WID account to start the service, and this account must have Log on as a service rights on the system.

Generally I don’t think this would be an issue, and if it is you should be able to simply use the local Group Policy editor (gpedit.msc) or a domain GPO to grant this account Log on as a service rights by using the following policy setting:

Computer Configuration -> Policies -> Windows Settings -> Security Settings -> Local Policies -> User Rights Assignment -> Log on as a service

Open the Log on as a service setting, check the box to Define these policy settings, and then add NT SERVICE\MSSQL$MICROSOFT##WID

However, to maintain security compliance as we move to Server 2012 R2, a domain Group Policy was recently created using Microsoft’s Security Compliance Manager (I may write a separate post on SCM later) and applied. As part of the Windows Server 2012 Security Baseline, Microsoft adds NT SERVICE\ALL SERVICES to the Deny log on as a service security policy. So because ALL SERVICES is being denied, even after adding MSSQL$MICROSOFT##WID to the Allow log on as a service policy locally, the WSUS role still failed to install for me.

To finally get the WSUS role installation to complete, I had to modify this new domain Group Policy and remove the ALL SERVICES account from the Deny log on as a service policy first, then add NT SERVICE\MSSQL$MICROSOFT##WID to the Log on as a service policy setting locally on the server.

For some more details and a few screenshots of the initial troubleshooting and resolution to this issue, check out one of the blog posts that I came across during my research. WSUS Role failed on Windows server 2012 with error…

You may notice that the blog I linked as well as many others I came across recommend just adding NT SERVICE\ALL SERVICES to the Log on as a service setting. Since Microsoft’s baseline security settings for Server 212 specifically DENIES log on as a service access to ALL SERVICES, I opted to only add the account explicitly required by WID to avoid opening up any more security vulnerabilities than I had to.

I’ll need to go back and take another look at our Server 2012 security policy to see if there’s another way around this while still denying log on as a service access to unneeded service accounts. I guess the easiest (and maybe best) thing to do would be to avoid using WID all-together and instead use a SQL Server instance.

That also leads me to another interesting topic that I’ll probably write another post about down the road. I’m installing WSUS with WID for now for the sake of time, but I may migrate it over to a SQL Server once I can. For a preview of that job, check out Migrate Windows Internal Database to SQL Server.

Links in this post:

 

-Rick

Leave a Reply

