SCCM 2012 R2 – Configure Software Inventory

SftInv

Shortly after installing SCCM 2012 R2 and getting the client installed on a few test systems, I noticed that the Inventoried Software section under Assets and Compliance\Asset Intelligence was empty and there was no application information showing up in Resource Explorer. I double checked that I had enabled Software Inventory in my client settings, which I had, so I started doing some research.

Turns out that I was missing two key settings to get what I wanted.

First, I neglected to specify any file types for the SCCM client to include in its software inventory.

Configuration Manager 2012 Software Inventory Missing

I had initially made the assumption that there was a built-in process for discovering installed software and that the “Inventory these file types” setting was only to specify additional file types as needed. As the blog post above suggests, in SCCM 2012 this isn’t the case.  If you don’t explicitly tell the client what to look for, it won’t return any results.

To correct this, I added two wild card entries to the client settings for file types:

  1. *.exe in %ProgramFiles%
  2. *.exe in %ProgramFiles(x86)%

FileTypes

After adding these rules and giving my clients time to get the new settings and run another software inventory cycle, I started seeing results in Asset Intelligence.

However, when I opened up Resource Explorer I found that the only information available under Software was simple file names, paths, and the modified date, among a few other minor file details. Useful, but not quite what I was looking for.

I can’t find the article that I came across now (I’ll try to add it later), but after doing some more research I found  out that you can also add software inventory functionality to the Hardware Inventory pass to get more details about installed applications. Luckily, enabling this was easy enough and just required adding a few additional classes to the hardware inventory client settings.

With Hardware Inventory selected click the Set Classes…. button, which brings up a list of the available items to be included in the hardware inventory. To enable additional software inventory functionality, just check the Installed Applications, Installed Executable, and Installed Software classes from the list.

HardwareInv

After doing this, Resource Explorer now has these new classes available and I’m able to see product GUIDs, version numbers, install dates, file hashes, uninstall strings, and more. Much more useful.

ResEx

-Rick

2 comments

Leave a Reply

